Home LT

Science Europe

Science Europe is an association of European Research Funding Organisations and Research Performing Organisations, based in Brussels. Its Founding General Assembly took place in Berlin in October 2011.

The main goal of Science Europe is to represent the interests of Member Organisations, European governmental organisations and European Commission in creating a unified area for scientific research.

Other goals of Science Europe include the following:

  • Support the work of its Member Organisations and promote co-operation between them both at policy and activity level;
  • Establish the scientific community as a third voice in the ERA, together with national government and the European Commission;
  • Act, with the interests and expert views of researchers as a guide, to maximize the input of the Member Organisations in the development of the ERA in conjunction with the European Commission;
  • Work with other European organisations to ensure that a broad based forum is established to inform discussions on ERA and related policy matters;
  • Provide a platform for dialogue with national ministers of research;
  • Co-operate with non-European research organisations; and
  • Deliver a coherent plan of action to ensure that publicly funded research and innovation in Europe has the maximum impact, contributing to the development of the economy and providing solutions to deliver societal benefit.

Science Europe is informed and supported in its activities by six Scientific Committees, composed of highly-authoritative academics coming from all over Europe and representing the broadest range of scientific communities and disciplines.

These Committees, each composed of 15 members including the Chair, act as the voice of researchers to Science Europe and are essential for the provision of scientific evidence to support science policy and strategy developments at pan-European and global level.

The Scientific Committees cover the following disciplines:

  • Humanities;
  • Social Sciences;
  • Life, Environmental and Geo Sciences;
  • Medical Sciences;
  • Physical, Chemical and Mathematical Sciences (including Materials Sciences);
  • Engineering (including Geo- and Bio-Engineering and Technological Sciences).

For more information please visit the official website.